Directors and Members

Mr Donald Manoa, Non-Executive Director

Mr Manoa, an electrical engineer, has a broad range of experience and skills in industry and as a director. He is Chairman of the NGIP/AGMARK Group of companies and a director on the board of First Investment Finance Ltd.

Mr Manoa brings to his role as a director many years of business experience in Papua New Guinea. He was General Manager of the Papua New Guinea Electricity Commission, and General Manager of Shell Company (PNG) Ltd and Shell Company Ltd, Solomon Islands. He was Chairman of Shell Company (PNG) Ltd, and Gazelle Restoration Authority. Mr Manoa was also a member of the board of directors of ANZ Banking Group PNG Ltd Barclay Brothers (PNG) Ltd and Air Niugini

Mr David Sode, Non-Executive Director

Mr David Sode is a former CEO of PNG Sustainable Development and is from Ialibu, Southern Highlands Province, Papua New Guinea.

He has a Law Degree from the University of Papua New Guinea and has a great deal of legal practice experience from 1985 to 1993. From 1989 to 1993 he served as legal counsel to the PNG Bureau of Customs and Excise. He was subsequently appointed as Commissioner of PNG Customs in 1994, heading the executive management of PNG Customs, which had then merged with the Tax office.

In 1998 Mr Sode was appointed Commissioner of Taxation and a year later was promoted to the position of Commissioner General of the PNG Internal Revenue Commission, serving in this post for a period of seven years.

Wilson Kamit

Sir Wilson Kamit, Non-Executive Director

Sir Wilson is a former Governor of the Bank of Papua New Guinea, and brings a wealth of expertise and experience to the board as the nominee of the Central Bank.

He has had a distinguished career as one of the country’s leading economists, making an outstanding contribution to the nation over many years, mainly through reforms to the financial system.

Dr Betty Lovai, Non-Executive Director

Dr Lovai is a distinguished academic with a Master of Arts degree in Social Policy and Administration from the University of Nottingham in the United Kingdom and a PhD from La Trobe University in Melbourne, Australia. She is the currently the Executive Dean of the School of Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of Papua New Guinea.

She is a champion for gender equality and women’s rights and in 2010 she was awarded the US Secretary of State’s International Women of Courage Award for exceptional courage and leadership in Human Rights, Gender Equality and HIV and AIDs.

Mr Lim How Teck, Non-Executive Director

Mr Lim, a certified public accountant, has extensive financial experience and serves on several boards in Singapore and corporations around the world.

Mr Lim is Chairman of Redwood International Pte Ltd, Heliconia Capital Pte Ltd, ARA-CWT trust management (Cache) Ltd, 33 Ventures Pte Ltd and NauticAwt Limited.He is also a director of Greenship Offshore Pte Ltd, Mizuho Securities (Singapore) Pte Ltd, the Foundation of Development Co-operation, Yang Kee Logistics (Singapore) Pte Ltd and DTT Corporation Pte Ltd.Until his retirement in 2005, Mr Lim was a board member, Executive Director and Group Chief Financial Officer of Neptune Orient Lines Ltd of Singapore.

Mr Lim was also awarded the Singapore Public Service Medal and Singapore Public Service Star.

Mr Philip Bainbridge, Non-Executive Chairman

Mr Bainbridge has had a distinguished career in the corporate sector, primarily in the petroleum industry. He has held senior positions including Executive General Manager, LNG, with Oil Search Ltd, and prior to that as Vice-President, Global LNG, with the BP Group.

He has extensive experience of Papua New Guinea over many years through his positions with both Oil Search and the BP Group.

Mr Bainbridge is a director of ASX-listed entities Beach Energy and Sino Gas & Energy, a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and a Chartered Engineer.

John Wylie

Mr John Wylie, CEO & Director

Mr Wylie worked in PNG during the 1970s (SP Brewery, Department of Finance and PNG Forestry Products Ltd).

He subsequently spent time providing strategic advice to large corporates (as a consultant with PECK/Boston Consulting Group and Australian Consulting Partners) and working in private equity.

Mr Wylie has entrepreneurial experience as founder and CEO of Inglewood Farms; a vertically integrated agri-business which supplies branded food to major supermarkets. He also spent several years in Mozambique as a director with AgDevCo facilitating large scale agribusiness start-ups before joining PNGSDP.


Companies limited by guarantee do not have shareholders, they have members.

The Members of PNGSDP are:

  • Mr Donald Manoa (with effect from 8 November 2002)
  • Sir Mekere Morauta (with effect from 1 October 2013)
  • Mr Phillip Bainbridge (with effect from 30 October 2013)
  • Mr Lim How Teck (with effect from 11 March 2003)